Wk 12 – Activity – Ethnography

This week we were asked to spend a night without electricity. I can say that this was one of the hardest nights of my life since my life revolves around electricity, especially my phone and laptop. I already knew that the experience wasn’t going to be fun since I’ve been through blackouts and having my phone die. The experience was so frustrating because i didn’t know what to do with myself. Once the sun set, I did not turn on the lights, I put a few candles around my house so that I could at least see some things. But since I had nothing to do, I tried to go to bed early at around 10pm. It was definitely hard trying to fall asleep that early because i’ve been sleeping so late, but also because I usually have my daily dose of social media before falling asleep. And without being able to use my phone, I was internally dying. Living without electricity is extremely limited and boring because you don’t know what to do with yourself, because all I did was snack on food from my cabinet. I thought about how people in the olden days did it, and I think it was physical interactions that helped them thrive. Living in this day and age, electricity is a necessity and I think ew take it for granted sometimes, because i know I do.

Leave a comment