Wk2 – Activity – Landscape with a Corpse

This week, I was asked to create and portray my own demise and capture it in a photograph. With the help of my boyfriend, I created a scene of how I would think I c-could die. Once we were introduced to this new project, I knew exactly what I wanted to do – I wanted to create an image of my own demise due to the pressure and stress of school. It really hit close to home for me since this is my first year here at Cal State Long Beach and I feel so much pressure from my family to do well in school. So I thought of ways that I could depict my own death. I went with “death by school”. For some background behind this scene, I am in the middle of finals week and I’ve been up since 5am to study and I need something to wake me up so I rummage through my mom’s cabinets for pills to keep me awake. I find some adderall and I take 2 because I thought “the more the better, right?” I end up overdosing and dying. So, in my photograph, I am on the ground doing homework with books and papers placed around me and a bottle of pills spilled across my laptop. I’ve read recently that students are most likely to commit suicide due to stress of school. I placed the pills there because it signifies the lengths that students go through just to try to do well in school. But of course, I had to take more than I could handle, leading to my death. This really opened my eyes to the fact that thousands of students have died in such a way just to succeed. I enjoyed this project because I was able to literally bring my project to life by creating a scene.

Leave a Reply

